Increase in Minimum Points for Skilled Migration

eoi points increase

Under Australia’s skilled migration program, applicants for a permanent skilled migration visa have been required to have a minimum of 60 points to be able to submit an Expression of Interest through “SkillSelect”. The Australian Government has recently implemented migration reforms under the Migration Instrument 2018 that makes a major change to this points based system (IMMI 18/067: Pool and Pass Marks for General Skilled Migration Visas).

This major change commences from 1 July 2018, and increases the number of points required to satisfy the criteria for a permanent skilled migration visa from 60 to 65 points. For some applicants, this might mean needing to rely on their partner’s skills assessment to obtain an additional 5 points. The points will still be calculated based on the same criteria, such as age, education and work experience.

These migration reforms will apply to visa applications that have been lodged on or after 1 July 2018. The visas subclasses that have been affected include:

  • Skilled – Independent (Subclass 189)
  • Skilled – Nominated (Subclass 190)
  • Skilled – Regional Sponsored (subclass 489)

These reforms will mean that those at the threshold of 60 points will be cut out from the Independent Visa process.  At the same time however, invitations have not been extended to candidates with only 60 points for several months now.